its-a-mystery

It’s a mystery. Actually it’s not really a mystery. I’m pretty sure teachers have superpowers. Over the past few weeks, I have been standing on the side of struggle street. Seriously. I’ve been trying to get my life together, only to have something else swing my way. Our professors tell us to not let our outside lives get in the way of our time in the classroom, and for the most part I am successful with leaving my baggage at home. Recently, I have been struggling big time. This made me wonder how in the world teachers are able to do what they do everyday. I see these teachers who are married with two or three kids, coming to school ready to teach a full day’s lesson without any worry of screwing up. (At least that what it seems like on the outside) Here I am, a single girl with no children, staying up until midnight every night, trying to replay every detail of the next day’s lesson in my head. And its only one lesson that I have to worry about! So I’m going to say something that I know many of you in TEP or Pre-TEP have asked yourself one time or another…”Am I really cut out for this?” I know you would probably never admit to saying it, but I’m pretty sure most of us have had this question linger in our heads. Whenever this question pops up in my head, I have to remind myself of all the wonderful things that come from being an educator. Teaching is a career that requires a ton of hard work and dedication. Despite the tediousness of this profession, it produces outcomes that are so rewarding. Why give up on something like that? If you are currently on struggle street like me, or if you’ve wondered how you will possibly make teaching look as effortless as your cooperating teacher, hang in there! I know this sounds cliché, but life really is a journey, and you really should trust the process. We are going to be great teachers, and one day we will learn to juggle every aspect of our profession and our personal lives. It just takes some time.

teacher-superhero

