mondays-blog

Let’s face it, Mondays can be a pain. The start of the week brings on new tasks to complete and new challenges to tackle.  At the moment, I have an immense amount of anxiety about my first week of actual teaching in the field. It has finally hit me that I have to make several good lessons over the next few weeks and present them to REAL children. Oh goodness. As I take a deep breath before facing the week, I remember a personal goal that I set for myself last semester. One thing that that helped me out a lot was to pick out one thing I wanted to improve on from the previous week and work on it during the next week. It really kept me in the habit of being reflective, and it was one task that wasn’t a pain among all of my other tedious assignments. This week, I plan to work on how I present instruction to students. I’ve been working on my classroom management skills, and one big part of that is providing clear instruction to students. I want to make sure that when it is time for them to work on their own, they won’t begin being totally confused about what they are supposed to be doing. It’s something very small, but that’s the point! Sometimes doing things a little bit at a time helps you to not be so overwhelmed in the end, and you might find that you learn a lot more that way! I challenge you this week to find one thing that you can improve on for this new week. Make it your focus to be a little better at something than you were before!

