Hey guys! I thought I would use my first blog post to tell you all what made me pursue education. I initially came to UAB in hopes that I would one day become Dr. Tanishia Sims D.D.S. and take on the world one cavity at a time. Now why did I want to become a dentist??? I honestly have no idea. Maybe it was because I thought my parents would be proud to have a doctor as a daughter, or maybe it was because I had no idea what I wanted to do so I closed my eyes and spun an imaginary wheel for a profession. All I know for sure is that once I entered the first semester of my freshmen year, I needed to change my major…real quick. I had no interest in any of my classes, and I did not see any true value in what I was doing. It just wasn’t for me. Once I learned more about what my profession would be like, let alone how the next four years would be, I started to reconsider what I really wanted to do with my life. When it comes to those stories about what got people interested in education, I have to admit that most of my story is pretty generic. I won’t bore you with the details. In this sudden light bulb idea to choose education as a career, I  began to think about the qualities I had that would make education a good fit for me. I also googled EVERYTHING I wanted to know about the field of education. I obsessed over it to be honest.

My big moment…

So I’m sitting at my parents house one Saturday, watching an episode of this HBO Family Documentary series called Kindergarten. The series followed a kindergarten class in New York and showed the different things the children were learning and how they were trying out new things. I had never seen or heard of this show before, but somehow my brain magically led me to this show. Let me tell you, this show had me crying my eyes out by the end of the episode. Teaching had everything I was looking for in a career! I loved seeing these little five-year-olds explore new things and be so eager to learn more about their world, and it gave me so much joy to see these teachers really enjoy their profession. I remember calling my mom into the room and telling her that I had made a final decision to change my major. This was it! Thankfully, my parents were super supportive in my decision to pursue education. They actually thought it would be a good fit for me, which was a huge relief. When I got back to Birmingham, I wasted no time getting everything sorted out. I set up a meeting to change my major to education, and the rest is history 🙂

8e33e3f8393b5a7ca8226bd55f144c25

 

