Best Teacher award

During fieldwork this semester I figured out the fastest way to become the best teacher ever: Give students a word problem during math.

You might be thinking that this couldn’t possibly work. Well it did for me. I had students coming up to me saying, “Mrs. Key, you are the best teacher ever!” And all because I gave them a word problem in math.

Did I mention I brought donuts and the word problem was figuring out how many of each flavor of donut each student and teacher would get without having any leftovers?

Now that I think of it…maybe the fastest way to become the best teacher ever is to bring the class donuts.

Best teacher ever or not, the students did some amazing thinking, collaborating and designing for this “Donut Math” problem. And to me, seeing that was far better than any best teacher award.

#bestteacherever #donutmath

IMG_1743.JPG

